About Us   -   Contact   Español PortuguesItalianoAleman

By agreement of July 12, 2015, "Expedite in Havana and de-escalate in Colombia", the Legal Commission was created with the mandate of building a special system of justice for peace, which had to reflect the following concepts: "Justice, Truth, Reparation and Non-Repetition within the frame of a Comprehensive System of Truth, Justice, Reparation and Non-Repetition; achievement of amnesties and/or pardons and national scopes; political offense and related offenses; treatment of non-political crimes and offenses; recipients of the system and legal security; necessary legal institutions for its implementation; sanctions; issue of extradition".

The Legal Commission began working on August 18 and concluded its work on September 20, with the signing of the agreement for a Special Jurisdiction for Peace in Havana on September 23, 2015. FARC Comandante Timoleón Jiménez, President of Colombia Juan Manuel Santos and President of Cuba, Raul Castro were present at the ceremony.


Subsequently, the Government of Colombia demanded the revision of the Jurisdiction Agreement for Peace which had already been signed, prompting new working meetings of the Legal Commission. The text was finally concluded by the parties on December 15, 2015.


Currently, the Legal Commission, as indicated by its mandate contained in the agreement of July 12, has one pending issue: establish the guidelines for amnesty and pardon to be applied when the Final Agreement is signed.


The Legal Commission is composed by three lawyers nominated by the Colombian Government: Manuel José Cepeda, Juan Carlos Henao and Douglas Cassel; and three jurists appointed by the Peace Delegation of the FARC-EP: Álvaro Leyva Durán, Diego Martínez and Enrique Santiago.